top of page
  • Writer's picturejohnweekstraveller

Revisiting Sunbury Music Festival 1973

Updated: Mar 2, 2019

My brother Kevin and I went to the Sunbury Pop Festival back in 1973. It was described as the "Rock Happening of 1973". The Festival ran over the long weekend in late January. The attendance was approximately 35,000 (depending what report you read at the time). The entry fee was approx. $6.00 (3 days), $5.00 (2 days), $1.00 (1 day) - An amazing value for money to see 3 days of Australia's best Rock bands and artists. During the festival I took a few black & white photos of the event with my small Kodak instamatic camera. A few years ago I posted these photos on my radio website (now ceased). Last Friday, my brother Kevin visited me and showed me a ‘coffee-table’ hardcover book called ‘Sunbury: Australia's Greatest Rock Festival’, published in 2017. Flicking through the pages of this book and remembering the days gone by, we discovered that one of my photos was published in the book. Back in 2012, there was a 40-year celebration occasion, held at the Station Hotel in Prahran. The flyer promoting this event featured my black & white photo. See attached pics below. And, for a giggle, I guess, there is a photo of me wearing my Sunbury T-Shirt back in ’73..





Social Media Feedback

Clare R. > How come it was cheaper to go for less time?!

John Weeks ? Beats me, Clare.

Clare R. > Mind you. I know a teeny Chinese aunty who, when I went to buy 3 cigarettes on behalf of my friend, said it was 3 baht for 1 or 10 baht for 3...

John Weeks > Clare Rodgers What a trader!

Bree C. > That’s so awesome!

Linda W. > Dad was there with St Johns don’t know if you needed any help from them or next.

John Weeks > how interesting, Linda!

Lainie L. > I went to the Station Reunion

John Weeks > a good turn out on the day, Lainie?

Kathy Baquie > Where did you find that photo? I remember my brother Chris going to that.

John Weeks > The photo is my family album. Watching the tennis?

Kathy B. > No tennis I’m in serious withdrawal! We are in the middle of the ocean heading back to Buenos Aires!

Dave D. > I was there.

Denise A. > So, did you get stoned, strip off, or drunk??? 😂

John Weeks > none of the above (although the second option was seriously considered due to the heat, Denise)

Leonie W. > Did you see Queen booed off the stage????

John Weeks > I think that was either '74 or '75 which I didn't go to. Rumour has it that Freddie Mercury yelled back at the crowd saying that the band, Queen, will be one of the greatest rock bands ever. Close to the mark I'd say.

Andrew L. > Maybe 74.

John Weeks > Yeah, maybe. Btw re: Jim Keays. I conducted a radio interview with Jim shortly before his death (2014). I still got a copy of that interview.

Kathie T. > So you didn't know your photo was being used? Did they acknowledge you at all? Nice that it's been 'immortalised' though.

John Weeks > No I didn't know, Kathie. By the way, I searched the internet this evening using the tineye website https://www.tineye.com/ and discovered that my photo has been featured in a heavy-metal music blog website.

Kathie T. > Again, with no credit to the photographer. You should make contact - they might be pleased to hear from you.

John Weeks > These days I place my website address on my photos which sometimes prompt people to check out my site. Were you aware of the tineye website?

Kathie T. > yes.

Allan P. > cool - I went to there as well in 73

John R. > 73 was the best of the Sunbury festivals ..

John Weeks > So I have heard, John. The memory stays strong in my mind :)

John R. > It was, I went to the first 3 but I boycotted 75

Sandy C. > We were at 72 and 73 . Both were Great 👍

Leo N. > Wow

Scott H. > Bit of Peter Fonda about you!😀

John Weeks > yeah you right, Scott ... Haha

Teri L. > I grew up in the Station Hotel! Daddy Cool,Dingoes, Sky Hooks and AcaDca all those in 1 week Memories

John Weeks > I used to see Dutch Tilders & Geoff Atchison perform there regularly on the Sunday 👍

Peter E. > Glad you enjoyed the book. The 40th anniversary flyer was produced by Paul Murphy. I wonder where he got your photo from? 📷

John Weeks > He probably took it from my old media website not that I have a problem with that. Btw The Sunbury book was brilliant!!

Peter E. > hope it brought back some memories!

Rosalie D. > Such great memories, I was there, my main memory was SO BLOODY HOT!!! Thanks to St John Ambulance crew that had a free cordial stand there to keep us hydrated. Great fun

Henk B. > I looked hard and close, but because they all had long air I couldn't spot myself. Brings back memories. I still remember the heat, water mellons and nudity.


126 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page